

## National Association of Agricultural Educators

300 Garrigus Building • Lexington, KY 40546-0215 Phone: (800) 509-0204 • (859) 257-2224

## MEMORANDUM

**DATE:** August 1, 2018

**TO:** State Winners of Outstanding Early Career Teacher, Outstanding Ag Ed

Teacher, Outstanding Middle/Secondary School Program, Outstanding

Postsecondary Agriculture Program, Teacher Mentor, Ideas Unlimited, CASE

Awards and Teachers Turn the Key

**FROM:** Alissa F. Smith, NAAE Associate Executive Director

**SUBJECT:** Announcement of 2018 NAAE National Award Recipients

On behalf of the NAAE Board of Directors, it is with pleasure that I announce the names of the NAAE award winners for 2018. As usual, the competition for these awards was intense. I congratulate all of you on your outstanding accomplishments as state winners. You are, indeed, individuals who make our association strong and our profession proud.

The following are the **2018 National Award Winners** who will be recognized at the convention in San Antonio, Texas, November 27 – December 1, 2018:

Outstanding	Region I	Katelyn Titus, CA
Early Career	Region II	Lauren Emerson, LA
Teacher	Region III	Tyler Warren, MN
	Region IV	Bryan Schullian, IL
	Region V	Jillian Ford, NC
	Region VI	Meagan Slates, PA
Outstanding	Region I	Wes Crawford, OR
Ag Ed Teacher	Region II	Carolyn Piguet, OK
	Region III	Neil Pearson, MN
	Region IV	Tamara Hyatt, MI
	Region V	Matthew Dettloff, FL
	Region VI	Holly Hufford, DE

Outstanding Middle/ Secondary Ag Ed Program	Region I Region II Region IV Region V Region VI	Clovis East High School, CA Royal Valley High School, KS York High School, NE North Huron School, MI Bagley Middle School, GA Wamogo High School, CT
Outstanding Postsecondary Agriculture Program	Region I Region II Region IV Region V Region VI	University of Idaho, ID Aims Community College, CO Northland Community & Technical College, MN Lake Land Community College, IL Wayne County Young Farmers Program, GA The Pennsylvania State University, PA
Teacher Mentor	Region I Region II Region IV Region V Region VI	Elaine Lewis, WA Marty Coulson, OK Jamie Propson, WI John Poulson, OH Dr. Phil Fravel, SC Sherry Heishman, VA
Ideas Unlimited	Region I Region II Region IV Region V Region VI	Bridget Goodner, AZ Samantha Reese, CO Nikki Fideldy-Doll, ND Mike Keilholz, MO Brandi Baade, GA Melvin Phelps, NY
Lifetime Achievement	Region I Region III Region IV Region V Region VI	Jim Summers, ID Kent Boggs, OK Dr. Dan Kvalheim, WI Harold Eckler, MO Dr. Gary Moore, NC Terrie Shank, MD
Outstanding Cooperation	Region I Region III Region IV Region V Region VI	Eugene & Shawn Smith, Culver's, ID Dr. Catherine Shoulders, AR Kevin Dahlman, MN Richard Roller, MO Georgia FFA Foundation, GA Ron Saacke, VA

## NAAE National Award Winners August 1, 2018

Outstanding	Region I	Dr. James Connors, ID
Service	Region II	James Cannon, AR
Citation	Region III	David Black, KY
	Region IV	Scott Johnson, IN
	Region V	Dr. Jim Flowers, NC
	Region VI	Joseph Linthicum, MD

CASE Model School Award South Winneshiek High School, IA

Melissa Hageman

CASE Innovation Award

Ryan Maiden, WA

Teachers Turn	Region I	Cody Beus, AK
the Key	Region I	Brody McGuire, AZ
	Region I	Nicole Borba, CA
	Region I	Samuel Hoffman, ID
	Region I	Lindsey Fox, MT

Region I Charmi Pommerening, NV

Region I Krysta Sprague, OR
Region I Niccole Morfin, UT
Region I Austin Baker, WA
Region I Liz Withers, WY

Region II Brittany Cockreham, CO
Region II Anthony Meals, KS
Region II Haley Montes, NM
Region II Amber Yandell, OK

Region III Jennifer Westphal, IA
Region III Elizabeth Johnson, MN
Region III Tanasha Wanner, ND
Region III Sara Colombe, SD
Region III Stacey Kunde, WI

Region IV
Region IV
Shelbi Louck, IN
Region IV
Ashley Rogers, KY
Region IV
Casie Forbush, MI
Region IV
Alicia Asher, MO
Region IV
Erin Wollett, OH

Region V Amanda Forstater, FL
Region V Callie Holloway, GA
Region V Mary Lett, MS
Region V Caroline Tart, NC
Region V Desiree Still, SC
Region V Brittany Davis, TN

Region VI	Karolyn Card, CT
Region VI	Quinn Cashell, MD
Region VI	Jenny Allen, NJ
Region VI	Taylor Clifford, NY
Region VI	Kathryn McMichael, PA
Region VI	Eric Rotondo, RI
Region VI	William Metzler, VA
Region VI	Zachary Tennant, WV

All special award regional winners and recipients of Teachers Turn the Key will be recognized at the 2018 NAAE Convention in San Antonio, Texas, November 27 – December 1, 2018. Award winners will receive specific information regarding convention travel arrangements by email in the coming days. Outstanding Early Career Teacher, Outstanding Ag Ed Teacher, Outstanding Middle/Secondary Ag Ed Program, Outstanding Postsecondary Agriculture Program award winners and Teachers Turn the Key recipients should not take any action regarding travel, hotel, or registration arrangements until they receive further instructions from NAAE. If you have already pre-registered for convention, you will be reimbursed by NAAE. Please contact Katie Wood (<a href="mailto:kwood.naae@uky.edu">kwood.naae@uky.edu</a>) to take care of your reimbursement as soon as possible.

cc: NAAE Board of Directors
State Ag Teachers' Association Presidents
State Executive Directors and Secretaries

## \*\*NOTE\*\*

Outstanding Early Career Teacher, Outstanding Ag Ed Teacher, Outstanding Middle/Secondary Ag Ed Program, Outstanding Postsecondary Agriculture Program award winners and Teachers Turn the Key recipients should not take any action regarding travel arrangements, hotel reservations, or convention registration until they receive further instructions from NAAE!! Please look for those instructions by email within the next several days. These will be emailed to your email address provided on the application. Please contact our office if you have any changes to your contact information.